ULI Philadelphia Blog

Third Street Corridor Technical Assistance Panel Released

TLC for Harrisburg’s Third Street Corridor

The Urban Land Institute today released its report on the Technical Assistance Panel convened on April 18 – 19, 2018 to study Harrisburg’s Third Street Corridor.

At the request of the sponsor, the Harristown Development Corporation, ULI Philadelphia convened a Technical Assistance Panel (TAP), where a group of volunteer member experts examined connectivity and marketing opportunities for the Third Street Corridor in Harrisburg, PA. The project sought to provide recommendations on how the corridor can become more connected and accommodating to multiple modes of transport, how the Downtown and Midtown neighborhoods can better complement each other by way of the corridor, and how existing assets, amenities, and development on Third Street can be better leveraged to maximize their collective benefit and spur additional economic development. The project brought together a volunteer panel of planning, development, marketing, environmental, land use and design professionals, who, after completing an intensive two-day research and stakeholder and interview process, presented their recommendations.

Considerations around encouraging a thriving community, leveraging existing assets, and connecting the corridor through physical improvements are themes of the recommendations. To view the full report, click here.

Since 1947, ULI Technical Assistance Panels (TAPs) have harnessed the multidisciplinary expertise of its members to help communities solve challenging land use, development, development, and redevelopment issues on behalf of government agencies and community-based nonprofits. ULI serves as the “honest broker,” bringing all stakeholders together in an environment free of politics and preconceptions. All reports and opportunities to participate in the program can be found here.

ULI Member Volunteer Panel

  • George Asimos; TAP Co-Chair, Partner, Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP
  • Albert Federico; TAP Co-Chair, Principal, Albert Federico Consulting LLC
  • Lindsay Bodin, Construction Manager, Insomnia Cookies
  • Sergio Coscia, AIA, Principal, Coscia Moos Architecture
  • Anne Deeter Gallaher, Owner/CEO, Deeter Gallaher Group LLC
  • Benedict Dubbs, AIA, LEED AP; Principal, Murray Associates Architect, P.C.
  • Patty Elkis, PP, AICP, Director of Planning, Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission
  • Scott France, AICP, Section Chief of County Planning, Montgomery County Planning Commission
  • Eric T. Goldstein, Executive Director, King of Prussia District (KOP-BID)
  • Joyce Lee, FAIA, LEED Fellow, President, Indigo JLD, LLC

Study Stakeholders

  • Staci Basore, Co-Owner, Mangia Qui
  • Charles O. Beckley II, Esq., BECKLEY & MADDEN, LLC
  • Lawrence Binda, Editor-in-Chief, The Burg
  • Ted Black, President, Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts
  • Bill Collier, Executive Chef and General Manager, Bricco Restaurant
  • Eric Darr, President, Harrisburg University of Science and Technology
  • Sheila Dow Ford, IMPACT Harrisburg
  • Julien F. Gaudion, Deputy Secretary, Property and Asset Management, Department of General Services
  • Justin Heinly, Heinly Homes
  • Chris Herr, Executive Vice President, PennAg Industries Association
  • Brad Jones, Harristown Development Corporation
  • Ian Kanski, Intag System
  • Marc Kurowski, P.E. , Principal, K&W /  Designing Environments
  • Christine Lawson, Salem UCC
  • Jenna Lewis, Vice President, Communities in Schools
  • Joe Massaro, General Manager, Hilton Harrisburg
  • David J. Morrison, Executive Director, Historic Harrisburg Association
  • Ian Morrison, Owner/ Operator, The Underground Bike Shop
  • Doug Neidich, Chief Executive Officer, Green Works Development
  • Michael Ortenzio, Project Manager, Select Capital Commercial Properties
  • Elise Panko, Harristown Development Corporation
  • The Honorable Eric Papenfuse, Mayor of the City of Harrisburg
  • Robert Philbin, Director, Capital Area Transit
  • Alice Anne Schwab, Executive Director, Susquehanna Art Museum
  • Melissa A. Snyder, Executive Director, Jump Street
  • Jeb Stuart, Historic Harrisburg Association
  • Beth Taylor, Manager, Broad Street Market
  • John Traynor, Harrisburg Midtown Arts Center
  • Ryan C. Unger, President & CEO, Team Pennsylvania
  • Todd Vander Woude, Executive Director, Harrisburg Downtown Improvement District
  • Ralph Vartan, Vartan Group
  • Richard Veet, Salem UCC
  • Bob Welsh, CEO, Intag System
  • Derek Whitesel, Executive Director, Harrisburg Young Professionals
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.